Research and Intervention Axis: “Ethics Architecture” and “Moral Feelings Education” Notions

Organisational ethics is sometimes, a difficult subject to approach. For some, it feels too “philosophical” and not well adjusted to business reality, even useless for decisions. For others, what is ethical or not seems so obvious that reaching a consensus on values looks relatively easy, if we work on it. For others again, ethics is just a punishment for people that broke the law or rules of a principle considered immutable.

At the research Chair, we use an architecture metaphor to emphasise the importance of the often unknown consequences of the use of conceptions and automatisms of ethics in an organisation. Every style of architecture generated different structures throughout the ages, like the houses in a specific region. And we can live “well” in a Victorian house, an ecological house or an urban loft. But every single of these architectures answer to different needs and generates a different life style. If in some houses, you can easily invite thirty people to dinner during the holidays, in others it’s very complicated. And if a house with a garden offers a more direct connexion to nature, life in an apartment is a lot more limited for that same aspect.

The principle is the same in ethics. Throughout the ages, human civilization has developed different emotional and thinking architectures that were influenced by instinctive urges. Those different “ethics architectures”, that is expressed through different theories and different practices, share and live in our organisations. They also get alongside business partner’s exchanges. And in our complex and globalized world, there are a lot of ethics theories and numerous ethics practices that combine themselves or oppose themselves.

Adam Smith and his friend, David Hume, were the first to propose the social and cultural theory of human evolution. Smith also used the expression “the invisible hand of evolution” to suggest that those moral emotions architectures are often partially visible, but remain strongly structuring. Recent scientific discoveries in neurophysiology and ethology, notably on social empathy, makes him right.

Unfortunately, Adam Smith’s name was associated in some circles to the notion of the “markets invisible hand”, like a call to casino capitalism that we know of today. In a very different way, Adam Smith and David Hume wanted to educate moral sentiments in people at the beginning of the industrial revolution that was emerging under their gaze in Scotland and England. They wanted to push towards a positive evolution of the economic, moral and ecological wealth of nations. And they conceived that the quality of that evolution was partially dependent of moral sentiments of people, whether express individually or collectively, in groups, organisations or societies.

The tool developed by the Chair allows us to make moral sentiments more visible and to, potentially, better refine them. This moral sentiments education brings us to the development of different conceptions and practices, whether it’s inside a business organisation or outside. This education requires the use of different pedagogics, like objective approaches (analysis assessment, measures, and statistics) and subjective approaches (dialogues, literature, artistic workshops). All the Chair’s activities (Research, publications, formation, consultation…) assist people into better understand the influence of moral sentiments for themselves and for others with the objective to refine their ethics conceptions and practices.

Axes de recherche et d’intervention: Les notions «d’architecture éthique» et «d’éducation des sentiments moraux»

L’éthique en organisation est un sujet parfois difficile à aborder. Pour certains cela semble trop «philosophique», pas assez connecté aux réalités concrètes des affaires, inutile pour décider. Pour d’autres, ce qui est éthique ou non leur semble tellement évident qu’un consensus sur des valeurs leur apparait relativement facile à réaliser, si on y travaille. Pour d’autres encore, l’éthique se résume à punir les personnes qui ont enfreint des règles de droit ou des principes considérés comme immuables.

A la Chaire, nous utilisons la métaphore de l’architecture pour signifier l’importance souvent méconnue des conséquences en entreprise des conceptions et des automatismes dans le domaine de l’éthique. Chaque style d’architecture a engendré à travers les époques des structures différentes, comme des habitations, réparties dans une région. Et l’on peut «bien» vivre dans une Victorienne, une maison écologique ou un loft urbain. Mais chacune de ces architecture répond à des besoins différents et engendre une façon différente de vivre : Si dans certaines on peut facilement inviter une trentaine de personnes à manger pour les fêtes, dans d’autres ceci s’avère difficile. Aussi, si une maison avec un jardin offre une connexion plus directe avec la nature, la vie en appartement est plus limitée sur cet aspect.

Il est en de même pour l’éthique. A travers les âges, les civilisations humaines ont élaboré différentes architectures de pensés et d’émotions, elles-mêmes influencées par des pulsions instinctives. Ces différentes «architectures éthiques», qui s’articulent par des théories et des pratiques différentes, cohabitent dans nos organisations. Elles se côtoient aussi dans les échanges avec les partenaires d’affaire. Et dans notre monde complexe et globalisé, de très nombreuses théories éthiques et de très nombreuses pratiques éthiques se combinent ou s’opposent.

C’est Adam Smith, avec son ami David Hume, qui proposa la première théorie sociale et culturelle de l’évolution humaine. Smith utilisa aussi l’expression la «main invisible de l’évolution» pour suggérer que si ces architectures de sentiments moraux ne sont souvent que partiellement visibles, elles demeurent cependant fort structurantes. Des découvertes scientifiques récentes en neurophysiologie et en éthologie, notamment sur l’empathie sociale, lui ont donné raison.

Malheureusement, le nom d’Adam Smith a été associé dans certains milieux à la notion de la «main invisible du marché», comme un appel au capitalisme casino que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. Très différemment, Adam Smith et David Hume désiraient mieux éduquer les sentiments moraux des personnes à l’aube de la révolution industrielle qui émergeait sous leurs yeux, en Écosse et en Angleterre. Ils voulaient encourager l’évolution positive de la richesse économique, morale et écologique des nations. Et ils concevaient que la qualité de cette évolution est en partie dépendante des sentiments moraux des personnes, exprimés individuellement et collectivement, dans des groupes, des organisations ou des sociétés.

L’outil développé par la Chaire permet de rendre plus visibles ces sentiments moraux et de pouvoir, potentiellement, mieux les affiner. Cette éducation des sentiments moraux mène au développement de conceptions et de pratiques différentes, tant à l’interne qu’à l’externe des entreprises. Cette éducation requiert aussi l’utilisation de pédagogies variées, comme des approches objectives (grilles d’analyse, mesures,  statistiques…) et des approches subjectives (dialogue, littérature, ateliers artistiques…). Toutes les activités de la Chaire (recherche, publication, formation, consultation…) assistent les personnes à mieux réaliser l’influence des sentiments moraux pour elles-mêmes et pour les autres, dans le but d’affiner leurs conceptions et leurs pratiques éthiques.